SWF: Balloons over Thebes

swf

Go enjoy views and skies from around the globe at SkyWatchFriday.

I shot these pictures whilst on an early morning hot air balloon ride in Luxor, Egypt.

hab62

And these traveling

Globes of thin air, red, green,

Delighting

The heart like wishes or free

– Sylvia Plath

hab53

The thick shimmering white line seen in the photograph below is the great River Nile.

hab92

February 2009

Luxor, Egypt

Have a good SWF, a lovely weekend and to those who celebrate, a very Happy Easter.

celine

http://indicaspecies.blogspot.com

15 Responses to “SWF: Balloons over Thebes”

  1. Fabulous photos of the balloons, the last one is definately my favourite, thanks for sharing.

    Have a great weekend
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

  2. I like the one in the middle. I wouldn’t dare ride one myself. Great to see pic, closest I’ll ever get one. Fantastis wiew! Happy SWF!

  3. Beautiful scenery!.
    I can imagine.. Thanks for a ride. 😉

  4. I have never wanted to take a balloon ride. It sure makes some nice photos. My skywatch photo is on my Brookville Daily Photo blog.

  5. We go to a balloon fest every year but I just can’t bring myself to go up in one.

  6. I’ve never been up in a hot air balloon. The view is lovely. Looks like a lot of other balloonists were enjoying the view too!

  7. I’ve never seen a skywatch photo with a balloon floating over the Nile before. Thanks for sharing your beautiful and unusual photos!

  8. Wow, I’m a sucker for hot air balloon pictures. These are great!

  9. That must of been an incredible experience and one I have to try out someday.

  10. Balloons are always such fabulous sky images.

  11. Ever since I read Jules Verne, I have wanted to go on a balloon flight. Unfortunately, my doctors forbid it, so it was doubly nice to fly with you and over a place I have linged to visit.

  12. Celine, the Plath quote is perfect to accompany these dazzling photographs. I’m glad you pointed out the River Nile.

    I went to your “Fugue” blog and enjoyed your cricket post. Although I’m not familiar with it, it’s always fun to read what you have to say about a subject. For some reason, the comment page would not load for me, so I came over here!

    By the way, I’m on a rather slow DSL connection on this computer; that’s most likely why the page wouldn’t load.

  13. wow! thrilling!

  14. i always wish to ride in this balloons..thanks for sharing this lovely pix

  15. beautiful bird’s eye view of he place!

Leave a Reply

