My World Tuesday~3: Diwali

myworlbuttonblack1

Do visit My World Tuesday for interesting posts from around the world

***

Diwali, the festival of lights, is celebrated all over the world, and it was no exception in Kuwait. Homes of people celebrating Diwali were lit to celebrate the festive spirit. These photographs were shot on October 29, 2008 in the area where I am presently residing.

My previous posts on Diwali:

dsc07009

“I am distinctly aware of my identity though I still claim to be a citizen of the world. Over the years, I kept thinking a daisy is a daisy no matter which part of the world’s soil it has sprung up from. Now I think that each daisy blossoms from a plant that has its own spot where its roots are embedded. It draws its strength from that spot. I have a sense of continuing to be rooted to my land.”

– an excerpt from my post on Diwali in Kuwait.


dsc07008

Previous MWT post:
My World Tuesday~2
My World Tuesday~1

8 Responses to “My World Tuesday~3: Diwali”

  1. The architecture there is so intriguing to me in the first place, but the addition of these lights makes it even more so. How wonderful!

  2. Great night captures! I have to admit, that I never heard of this festival of lights, though!
    Wonderful post, Celine!
    Cheers, Klaus

  3. I went back and read the other post too…Very interesting and the photos are beautiful..

  4. Oh I love these pictures and the wonderful colour. I was aware of Diwali from the celebrations in the UK, but not of this tradition.

  5. Your place is so well decorated. Beautiful, Celine!

  6. indicainq8 Says:

    Thank you all for these wonderful words. They are very encouraging.

  7. …Great to see the lights and the spirit – Diwali is Diwali, whether in Kuwait or India! Hope it was happy.

  8. Gardenia:

    Indeed, thanks for your visit.

Leave a Reply

